Please advise a species to keep at school

Help to the newbie

Re: Please advise a species to keep at school

Beitragvon kirillovp » 23. Jan 2008 07:55

Hi, I'm a biology teacher at a small school and I've been dreaming of trying to set up a formicarium as a "project" with my students. Can you advise me a species that would be easy to keep (I have no experience) but interesting for kids? It looks like L.niger is a good option but they are quite small - are there any bigger ones but just as easy?
kirillovp

Land: Russia (ru)
Danke bekommen: 0 Danke

Beitragvon tail__ » 23. Jan 2008 08:42

Formica fusca would be a good choice. The workers are 4-7mm long, compared to 3-5mm of L. niger.
tail__

Land: Poland (pl)

Beitragvon SteveUK28 » 23. Jan 2008 12:02

I would recommend L.Niger if you have no experience, They may not be all that big but are wonderfull ants to watch, they will also grow fast so you'll have a nice big colony quite soon. Best of luck whateva you decide.
SteveUK28

Land: United Kingdom (uk)

Beitragvon miszt » 23. Jan 2008 12:29

Lasius Niger are definitly the easier option, having said that, as you have probly more resources than the average starter, then pherhaps a tropical Camponotus species would be good, they dont need a huge amount of special care, only a good setup, with heating and humidity checks

Pherhaps it could be a good project for the pupils, to design the formicarium based on research of where they live, what they eat, and how they build there nest?

Certainlly dont jump in feet first! Do plenty of research, ask questions :) we'll be happy to help!