Greeting from a newbie down under!

Help to the newbie

Greeting from a newbie down under!

Beitragvon magick81 » 19. Mär 2014 07:03

Hello from Australia,

I am a newbie and have wanted to get into keeping ants for quite some time but was never sure how to start.
Anyways, my GF bought me a small ant farm kit. Not your typical ant farm, it actually looks like a proper one for kids.
It is the Wild Science Ant Mine Underworld.

Its a kit so you can make your own ant habitat out of plaster.
I know it it like a childs toy, but I figured that this would be OK for newbie.
I like it so much I've actually ordered another one for my Godson to give him on his birthday, hahaha

Any feedback on these kits guys? Some in depth instructional videos posted below.

Hyperlinks sind nur für registrierte Nutzer sichtbar

The area I live in was all nothing but bushland just 20 or so years ago before they turned part of it into a nice housing estate. We are still surrounded by bush on one side and get all kinds of wildlife. I've identified 2 species that have nests in my front and backyard :)

The are the giant bull ant's which are over an inch in size and look very mean! I even noticed a couple alate's milling around the nest entrance. Because they have a nasty sting they are not the kind of ants I want.

The other kind are not aggressive and much prettier in my opinion. Golden Tailed Spiny Ants (Polyrhachis ammon). The have metallic golden sheen from the gaster and around the shoulders. Have yet to find a queen, but I'm keeping an eye out. I caught one for photos the other day and released. Sorry for the poor quality, I do not have a Macro lens for my DSLR and it seems my iPhone5 took better pictures than my DSLR could with just the twin lens kit lol.

Anyways, I hope to make my ant keeping online home here, as I haven't found and Aussie forums dedicated to just ants.

Nice to meet you all :)

Cheers
Kevin :D