Beginner who is eager to start

Help to the newbie

Beginner who is eager to start

Beitragvon Koeny » 23. Dez 2012 18:42

I am a beginner and have decided to keep a colony of Pheidole pallidula in this nest (http://www.antstore.net/shop/antfarms---nests/acrylglas-formicaria/acrylglass-formicariums-antfarm/Acryl-Labyrinth-City---8mm.html) in a heated living room with temperatures of between 18°C (winter nights) and 28°C (hot summer days) and humidity of between 40 and 60% all year round. Am I correct that these ants are well able to survive and thrive in these conditions? I'm planning to keep them hydrated with water gel (http://www.antstore.net/shop/climate-technology/irrigation---moisturisation/water-gel/water-gel-500ml---Aqua-Crystal-Gel.html) and fed with sugar honey fluid (http://www.antstore.net/shop/food---Feeding-dish/Honey---sugar/sugar-honey-fluid-100ml.html) and a food mix set (shop/food---Feeding-dish/food-kits/ANTSTORE-Food-Mix-Set.html). Is my initial planning well thought out or am I forgetting things?

Questions on Pheidole pallidula:
- Are they easy to keep?
- Can they live in acrylic nests?
- How much do they eat?
- Do they require extra moisturisation in moderately humid conditions?
- Do I have to use tape as extra escape proofing?
- Can I "suggest" them to discard their waste in an easily accesible place?

Also, would PTFE work on acrylic?

My buying list:
- Acryl Labyrinth City - 8mm
- Pheidole pallidula Queen + 11 - 25 workers
- Water gel
- Sugar honey fluid 100 ml
- Food mix set
- Feeding dish with sponge
- PTFE (if it works on acrylic) or parrafin oil
- Silicone plug

Suggestions and thoughts are very welcome.

Thank you!
Koeny

Land: Belgium (be)
Danke bekommen: 0 Danke

Re: Beginner who is eager to start

Beitragvon sapsey2001 » 8. Apr 2013 14:58

Good afternoon,

I really hope you can help me please.