Y-Tong nest advice

Y-Tong nest advice

Beitragvon ElliotHC » 7. Jul 2011 17:17

Hi,

I'm pretty new to all this ant stuff, I've got some leaf cutter ants on the way and they should be here tomorrow. As I've been too busy playing on my PS3 to make them a farm and I was hoping that someone here could give me some advice.

Now that I am sure I have raised a few peoples blood pressure I will come clean :)

I kept Formica Fusca for about 3 years and ended up with a mite problem, I managed to get hold of some Formic acid from a local bee keeper although it's not so easy to get hold of these days as they use something else to combat the verroa mite. Anyway, after about 4 weeks of treatment almost all the mites had died off. I went away for a week and when I had come back they had all died (all 21 of them that is) including the queen... I think I may have overdosed :( There aren't any instructions that I could find on how to deal with it although I am pretty sure I will get the does right if it happens again.

I was of course quite upset by all this and decided to to try again but something completely different.

I have on the way from the Antstore camponotus ligniperda 1 queen and 10 workers, I have just spent the last 3 hours making a Y-Tong nest... I think I have pretty much got it sorted but I need to heat it and was wondering what people find is the best way..

The idea of using a heat mat seems ok but not so good without a thermostat, Ideally a fishtank type heater which sits in a bored hole but it would have to be low power or it would probably break as it needs to be immersed in water to dissipate the heat. Maybe heat mat on a thermostat??

Any suggestions would be great and any tips for keeping my camponotus ligniperda, I have an acrylic arena (moated) although I doubt I will put any water in it as it's just gets all lime scaled and my ants might drown. Is that enough or do they need something else?

Oh yes, I almost forgot..