A few Newbie Questions on Lasius niger & a Setup

A few Newbie Questions on Lasius niger & a Setup

Beitragvon Renster » 13. Jul 2010 06:18

Hiya Peeps, New to the forum.

Ive just ordered a Queen and about 20 Workers or Lasius Niger, I have a lot of experience breeding certain Insects (Crickets and Mealworms for my Gecko's) but Ive never kept ants lol and before it gets thrown at me, Yes Ive done my research on the species but there is a few things I can't find answers for (Hence why I am here asking).

One other thing I will say which has me pickled: The site I bought the Ants from states that "Lasius Niger eat gass seeds" now this may well be true but almost every site I have found states that they don't..... Which is rather annoying considering I bought a Kilo bag of seeds when I ordered them :x

I am going to buy sand tomorrow as I need it for both my Gecko's and for the Ants that are on their way. Thinking of it, I should probably get in contact with my Mailman and tell him to front seat that parcel as he has a habit of tossing parcels around (Receiving shattered panes of glass is not amusing!)

I will keep them in a 11" x 4" x 5" Exo-Terra Faunarium, I also have a 15" x 15" x 21" Tank waiting for when the colony picks up.

My main question is: I do create mass amounts of Decor for my Gecko's out of Polystyrene coated with Grout/Plaster and/or Varnish.

Would It be OK to make some Decor for the ants out of such materials? Excluding the varnish as I am pretty sure that would be bad if they had a chew on it.

I know that eventually they will probably chew through the polystyrene and tunnel it but is it harmful to them?

Another question is: I use Coco Husk/Coconut Fibre (Compressed/Water Expansion) Bricks for my geckos, would this be OK to top the sand with? It holds moisture extremely well and I have tons of it bagged up.